Stuck

Summer is well and truly over. The semester started on Monday, and I should be well on my way on the road to my dissertation. But I’m not. It’s time for me to really get thinking, finding out exactly what it is I’m interested in.

I’ve been reading back over the blog posts on my master’s degree over at LiveJournal, and I came across the one where I first described my project. It’s exciting to read it now, so many months later, but discouraging at the same time, since I feel I am nowhere close to start reading the necessary theory. I still have to find my research question.

But, I’ll be posting the LiveJournal post here. Maybe someone will notice the same excitment I seemed to be radiating 😉

4th-Feb-2010 07:50 pm – Topic chosen: The gendered hybrid
Oh, yeah, did I say that I figures out what my master thesis will be on yesterday? I didn’t? Maybe because I was busy relaxing and letting the weight off my shoulders.

In two of my classes we have Soja as the primary theorist, and his work with Lefebvre and their theories of thirding and moving away from dualisms, combined with hybridity got me thinking about the hybrids in Battlestar Galactica and Caprica. This thought has been spinning in my head for a few weeks and I finally worked myself up to talking to Ingvil about it yesterday, and she loved the idea! I think it will be on hybridity in those series from a presentation perspective; it’s interesting how the hybrids are presented in female bodies. Cue connection to Beauvoir and woman as The Other, or, in this case, as Thirding-as-Othering.

Wenche also liked the idea. Not sure who fits the best to be my supervisor, but I really hope I can get Ingvil to be co-supervisor at least, since she works with science fiction as well, and she’s the one who got me on this path in the first place.

Leave a Reply

